NOTICE:  There will be a quorum of the CoT traveling to attend New Mexico state-mandated charter board training on November 12-13, 2019 in Albuquerque, NM.  No business will be discussed nor any action taken during this time.


Education is a cooperative undertaking between our school and the community, and a successful program can be developed only when there is understanding and communication.


Jefferson Montessori Academy is a Carlsbad Municipal Schools’ charter; however, we are a separate entity within the CMS District. Our regular council meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the JMA cafeteria.  Meeting dates and time are also available on the school calendar.

Regular and special meetings of the Council of Trustees are held in public but are not public forums. The Council follows a written agenda, a copy of which is available online prior to the meeting or at the meeting, and will assist you in participating in the meeting. Questions of fact asked by the public shall, when appropriate, be answered by the President or referred to the Principal for reply.


The Council of Trustees also allots in each of its regularly-scheduled meetings up to one-half hour for parents, students, teachers and the public to address issues that are not on the meeting's agenda. The agenda item "Opportunity for Audience" is provided to give everyone a chance to share their views on ways to improve the educational program and ways to improve the processes, including communication, for bringing about such improvements. Individuals will be allotted up to two minutes. If time does not permit all those wishing to speak to do so, written comments may be left with the principal. Personnel matters will not be discussed in a public meeting.


The Council truly appreciates the input of students, parents, faculty, and community members, and we encourage you to become involved in attending the Council meetings and participating when the opportunity is available.


Seat One:  Brandy Ackland

Seat Two:  Robert "Zeke" Salaz, Secretary

Seat Three:  Deanna Weston-Helmer, President

Seat Four:  Christy Sisk

Seat Five:  Michael Medrano, Vice President